WhatsApp Delete for Everyone

The ongoing tests by the popular technology company WhatsApp has included one more feature in its list. The WhatsApp feature for deleting the messages appearing in the receiver’s end is compiled under the caption as ‘delete for everyone’, which is already on the roll out.

Last month the company WhatsApp had tested the feature of message recall or ‘Delete for Everyone’. The same was rolled out for only some of Android beta users last week.

Today WhatsApp announced that the said feature is available to all the users globally. The condition for the feature to be used is that the user and the recipient should be using the latest version of WhatsApp, for the message to be successfully deleted.

“Starting today you can now delete messages you sent by mistake – whether to one person or an entire group,” writes WhatsApp

Similar to what we can currently do in the picture messages, the messages when deleted by the sender at her or his end, the same will be deleted on the recipient’s window as well and the recipient will receive the pop up as “This message was deleted”.

How to use WhatsApp’s feature of ‘delete for everyone’

Here comes the best thing. To recall a message or delete it for everyone, select the message you wish to remove and tap the trash icon which then will show you a pop-up asking if you want to delete the message for me or for everyone.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats as mentioned above.

Interestingly, here is the ‘catch’, the sender will have herself or himself a 7-minute deleting time-frame post which the delete option will be nullified. Again, the deleting goes without use, if the recipient has read the message already and promptly taken a print-shot of the same. Also, if the recipient has deleted the message from her or his end, notification for the same will not be sent for the same to the sender which is a disadvantage.

How can iOS users and Android users use the feature

iPhone user will send the message to a contact, select it, then click on the delete bin at the bottom left of the screen. On clicking the delete bin option, the iPhone user, like Android will get the same options – delete for me, cancel and delete for everyone.

One will need to click on the delete for everyone option. The feature works in a similar manner for both windows phone and desktop user as well.

WhatsApp’s Delete for Everyone feature is rolling out for all the users on the latest versions of iPhone, Android, Windows Phone as well as desktop, which is cool!.

 

 

SHARE