Hung Hom JD Jaguars wins Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018 Cup; Darren Sammy Experience

Hung Hom JD Jaguars beat Galaxy Gladiators Lantau in the Hong Kong T20 Blitz final to lift the local T20 Cup 2018.

In order to promote Cricket in Hong Kong, Cricket Association of Hong Kong organized Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018 from February 6 to February 11. Five teams were included in the recent series and Hung Hom JD Jaguars squared off against Galaxy Gladiators Lantau in the final of the series.

It was Hung Hom JD Jaguars vs Galaxy Gladiators Lantau in the Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018, played at Kwong Road Recreation Ground. This T20 tournament is also known as DTC Hong Kong T20 Blitz due to the sponsors.

In the Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018 final, after winning the toss, Galaxy Gladiators Lantau's captain K Sangakkara opt to bowl first. This gave the opportunity to set a big total. The opener Nizakat Khan scored brilliant 93 off just 52 balls and J Botha added 31 runs. Wickets fell at the other end but Nizakat carried his form to take his team to post a mammoth total of 200-7 after 20 overs.

Chasing a score of 201, Galaxy Gladiators Lantau captain, Kumara Sangakkara batted really well and continued the hunt. The turning point of the match came when Lantau's Darren Sammy caught Sangakkara off skipper Kinchit Shah, leaving Jaguars 136-3 after 15 overs. Lantau required 65 of the last 30 balls. Franklin with late cameo gave the Lantau a hope but 23 from 7 balls was a hard ask.

Darren Sammy with his experience kept his cool under pressure to bowl the last over and Galaxy Gladiators were just 6 runs sort of the total. In the end, it's Hung Hom JD Jaguars the Hong Kong T20 Blitz champion. Nizakat Khan was adjudged Man of the Match for his brilliant inning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *