Mumbai Indians hands Defending Champions Sunrisers Hyderabad first Defeat of the Season

A photo from MI vs DD match | Image Copyright:

Mumbai Indians have defeated defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad(SRH), their second consecutive win in VIVO IPL 2017 on Wednesday evening. Sunrisers now have registered their first defeat after winning their first two matches of IPL 2017 season. Both the wins for Sunrisers came at their home venue. A win by four wickets at Wankhede Stadium, home ground for Mumbai Indians(MI). It was the tenth match of IPL 2017.

It was first Harbhajan Singh who pulled back Sunrisers from scoring a high total and then Nitish Rana anchored the chase with a composed score of 45 off 36 balls in the Mumbai’s successful chase.

During the post-match presentation after a win over Sunrisers, Rana revealed that before the season start he was mentally disturbed but a change of environment and advise from Mumbai Indians seniors like Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma and Mahela Jayawardena helped him a lot.

Mumbai Indians won the toss and enforced Sunrisers Hyderabad to bat first. Captain David Warner gave their team a perfect start with a score of 49 off 34 balls before he was caught behind off Harbhajan Singh bowling. The team raced to 100 runs in 12.4 overs and were looking confident to set a target of nothing less than 180 on the scoreboard but Harbhajan struck again to dismiss Deepak Hooda cheaply. After Shikhar Dhawan’s wickets in the 15th over, no batsman was able to score against Mumbai Indians bowling attack led by Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell McClenaghan and Hardik Pandya. Jasprit Bumrah returned with a 3 for 24, his second best bowling figures in the IPL and was award as ‘Man of the Match’.

Chasing a total of 158, Mumbai Indians wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel gave the team a solid start as the team score 61 runs with 2 wickets in the Powerplay 1. Parthiv added 39 runs off 24 balls with 7 fours before he was dismissed by Deepak Hooda in the tenth over. Batting at no.4, Nitish Rana once again guided the chase and Krunal Pandya late onslaught with a score of 37 runs off 20 balls helped Mumbai chase down a target of 158 with 8 balls to spare.

With likes of experience fast bowlers Bhubaneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Mustafizur Rahman, Rashid Khan, Ben Cutting and Deepak Hooda, defending champions were confident to defend a score of 159 but Mustafizur Rahman, playing his first match this IPL season leaked away 34 runs in 2.4 overs.

Mumbai Indians as of April 12th are third on the points table with two wins in three games. They are likely to continue their winning streak as they face Royal Challengers Bangalore at M Chinaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on April 14.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Yogesh Khetani

Yogesh is been in the field of technology for over seven years now. He keeps him updated with the latest smartphones in the market. He also loves outdoor games and so as a part of his hobby, he keeps you updated with Sports updates apart from Technology news.

LeECO LePhone W7

LeECO Launches LePhone W7 with the 4G VoLTE & 22 Regional Language Support at just Rs 4599


MCC amends Laws to give Protection to Wicketkeepers from Flying Bails