Indian Squad for Champions Trophy 2017 Announced

Indian team with ICC Champions Trophy 2015 |

After confirming India’s participation in Champions Trophy 2017 on Sunday’s BCCI special meeting, team selector MSK Prasad has announced Indian Squad for Champions Trophy 2017. The tournament will be held in England from June 1 and team India will be defending their title, which they won in 2013.

Regarding the squad, there aren’t any surprises because selectors don’t want the national team to take any risk at this major ICC event.

Rohit Sharma reclaimed his first-choice opener as he is set to return from a thigh injury which kept him out of action for five months. 26 years old Mohammad Shami also returns to the national ODI squad. He last played an ODI at 2015 World Cup in Australia where he was India’s best bowler.

MS Dhoni, who led became the only Captain in Cricket history to win all the three ICC tournaments was chosen as preferred wicket-keeper and Virat Kohli will lead the side.

KL Rahul’s shoulder injury paved way for Shikhar Dhawan inclusion as a preferred opener along with Ajinkya Rahane. Quite surprisingly, 35 years old Yuvraj Singh kept his spot alive. Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin are preferred spinners.

Selectors also retained Umesh Yadav, Bhubaneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav and Manish Pandey in the 15-man squad submitted to ICC.

The selectors placed Suresh Raina, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik and fast bowler Shardul Thakur on standby.

India is in group B with Sri Lanka, South Africa, and Pakistan as other group members.

India is scheduled to play arch-rival Pakistan on June 4 at Edgbaston. It will be a special Sunday for India-Pakistan match, last of which only happened two years back at World Cup 2015 in Australia.

Also Read – BCCI schedules IPL Fan Park in Warangal

On June 8 they take on Sri Lanka at Kennington Oval, London and finally will play South Africa on June 11 at the same venue. Two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-final on June 14th and 15th and Champions Trophy final will be held on June 18 at Oval, London.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Yogesh Khetani

Yogesh is been in the field of technology for over seven years now. He keeps him updated with the latest smartphones in the market. He also loves outdoor games and so as a part of his hobby, he keeps you updated with Sports updates apart from Technology news.

ZTE Nubia M2 Lite phone

Selfie-Focused ZTE Nubia M2 Lite NX573J Launched in India at Rs 13,999

Thugs of Hindostan

Thugs of Hindostan to Star Aamir Khan, Amitabh, Katrina Kaif & Fatima Sana Shaik