Hema Malini, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan & Saiyami Kher won Dadasaheb Phalke Award

Aishwarya Rai
Aiwarya Rai | Image Source: Pixabay (Licensed under CC by CC0)

The prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Awards 2017 have been awarded to those who have done a good job this year in the field of cinema. Veteran actress and politician Hema Malini bagged the award this year. Apart from this veteran actress Zeenat Aman, actress Aishwarya Rai Bachchan and filmmaker Shoojit Sircar also secure their position to achieve the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2017. The award function in Mumbai witnessed the grand presence of many music giants and Bollywood celebrities.

On the 148th birth anniversary of Dadasaheb Phalke, this excellence award function was organized in respect of the great legend of the Indian cinema. The award of the best female actress has won by Aishwarya Rai Bachchan for her stellar performance in movie ‘Sarabjit’. On the other hand, in the category of kala shree, Hema Malini bagged the award. The lifetime achievement award has been bagged by Zeenat Aman while Shoojit Sircar secured the creative director award for direction of ‘Pink’. Rohit Roy bagged the award for the best negative role in movie ‘Kaabil’.

The best debut award has been achieved by Saiyami Kher for Mirzya. She starred in the film opposite to Harshvardhan Kapoor, son of veteran hero Anil Kapoor. Actress Sara Khan won the award for the best contribution to the TV industry. The elated actress expressed her happiness on social media.

Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award started around three years back in Mumbai and is being organised every day for respecting various artists for their contribution to the film industry and TV industry.