BJP wins 184 Seats in MCD Elections 2017; Sweeps all three Delhi Municipal Corporation

Happy voters
Image for Representation purpose (Licensed under CC by CC0)

Delhi Municipal Corporation (MCD) election results are out, and it was a clear victory for Bharatiya Janta Party. The party will have control over the three civic bodies in the Indian Capital city while Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) appears to be getting the worst effect of this victory.

As per the results declared, out of the 270 seats, Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) has won 184 seats while AAP managed to retain its hold on 46 seats. Congress party has to be satisfied with only 30 seats, and others have won 10 seats.

Delhi Deputy Minister Manish Sisodia blamed the dismal performance of AAP on the EVM machines when he said that EVM tampering is a bitter truth. Alka Lamba, MLA of the AAP has taken the responsibility of losses in all three wards and has shown the readiness to resign from the party posts.

Whereas, Ajay Maken, Indian National Congress(INC) President, has said that due to the below expectation performance of the Congress party, he has decided to resign from his post. He further stated that he will work as an ordinary party worker for one year and will not take the responsibility of any party post.

Subramanian Swamy, BJP MP, said that as people have shown that they do not support AAP, the president should call for fresh elections after dismissing the current Delhi Government. He said that the same thing happened in 1977 so it can be done in the present scenario.

Commenting on BJP’s MCD election win, Yogendra Yadav said that Delhi has “rejected CM, elected PM”. Once the elections were concluded, Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi tweeted –

BJP has given the credit of this landslide win in Delhi civic bodies to the work and popularity of Narendra Modi.