Australia, South Africa & Bangladesh Announces respective ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Squads

Image Copyrighted to

Cricket fans are currently happy to watch atleast one IPL match, every day at 8 PM IST. In the non-IPL news today, Australia, South Africa, and Bangladesh have announced their 15-man squad for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. This will be the 8th edition of ICC Champions Trophy, also referred as ‘Mini World Cup’.

Australia recalled Moises Henriques, James Pattinson, John Hastings and Marcus Stoinis. Australia has opted for genuine pace options with the addition of Pattinson, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins along with Mitchell Starc. Steven Smith, David Warner, Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Chris Lynn, Matthew Wade all have retained their spot with lone spinner Adam Zampa. Maxwell and Travis Head are chosen on the merits of their part-time ability to bowl off-spin.

James Faulkner exclusion marks a major change for the selectors as they find Henriques worth his place for his batting and recent form in Indian Premier League. Injured Chris Lynn and Mitchell Starc inclusion are subjected to a fitness test.

South Africa squad for the Champions Trophy includes Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, David Miller, JP Duminy, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Dwaine Pretorius, Farhaan Behardien, Andile Phehlukwayo and Imran Tahir.

South African selectors have recalled Morne Morkel and spinner Keshav Maharaj for the Champions Trophy. Before Champions Trophy, South Africa will play three ODIs against England. They are currently the No.1 ranked team in ODI’s and also have top-ranked bowler and batsman in Imran Tahir and AB de Villiers.

Bangladesh has left out pace bowler Subashis Roy, all-rounder Shuvagata Home and wicket-keeper Nurul Hasan. Shafiul Islam and Nasir Hossain are back in ODI team. The final team squad will be announced after training camp in Sussex and after triangular ODI series in mid-May. Chief Selector, Minhajul Abedin said that inclusion of Nasir Hossain will strengthen the middle-order.

Indian team with ICC Champions Trophy 2015 | Image Source:

India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, England, New Zealand are yet to announce their squad for Champions Trophy 2017 to held in England from June 1, 2017. Arch rivals India will take on Pakistan on June 4 at Edgbaston, Group B which includes South Africa and Sri Lanka as other two teams. New Zealand, Bangladesh, Australia, and England are in Group A. Final will be played on June 18 at London. India is the defending champions.

For the first time, West Indies, the current ICC World T20 Champions, are forced not to played as they failed to qualify on the basis of top-eight teams in the ICC ODI Rankings by 30 September 2015. The Star-studded team lost their place to Bangladesh.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Yogesh Khetani

Yogesh is been in the field of technology for over seven years now. He keeps him updated with the latest smartphones in the market. He also loves outdoor games and so as a part of his hobby, he keeps you updated with Sports updates apart from Technology news.

Huawei Honor Bee 2

Huawei Honor Bee 2 Launched in India for ₹7499 – Exclusive Offline Handset

Xiaomi Mi6

Xiaomi Mi6 with 5.15-inch Display, Dual Camera Setup & 6 GB RAM Announced